YMI logo


Man of the Year Award

The YMI "Man of the Year" Award is our organization's most prestigious award that is based on our three-fold purpose: Faith, Patriotism and Fraternalism. The award is bestowed annually during the Grand Council Sessions to a worthy YMI brother in consideration of the following criteria:

    • Service to the Parish (Faith)
    • Service to the Community (Patriotism)
    • Council Activities (Fraternalism)
    • Grand Council Activities

To nominate a YMI brother for the Man of Year Award, please submit an application by the due date of May 1st. Click here for the Man of the Year Award Application.

As shown on the list of past honorees, the YMI Man of the Year has been awarded to a dedicated, respected, and deserving group of YMI Brothers over the past 25 years. Click here for a PDF version of the list of award winners.

Man of the Year Award Winners

2018 Fr. Agnel De Heredia   Reno, NV
2017 Nick Franceschine #54 Stateline, NV
2016 Frank Hepburn #2 Santa Rosa, CA
2015 Michael Dimech #613 Reno, NV
2014 Thomas Fourie #32 South Lake Tahoe, CA
2013 Dominic Carinalli #54 Reno, NV
2012 Michael Amato #613 Seaside, CA
2011 Jack Albrecht #1 Santa Rosa, CA
2010 Phil Fondale #137 Sparks, NV
2009 Cosmo Amato &
Richard Pisciotta

Mariner of The Sea
2008 Scott Volgessang #612 Richmond, IN
2007 John West #8 Sparks, NV
2006 Wendell Serrao #573 South Lake Tahoe, CA
2005 Dan Casteline #5 South Lake Tahoe, CA
2004 Bob Bartoli #32 Modesto, CA
2003 Michael Bacchetti #92 Konocti, CA
2002 Harold Boyd #1 Stockton, CA
2001 Matthew Pund #497 Reno, NV
1999 Randi Sorci #59 Modesto, CA
1998 Manual Drumonde #44 Jasper, IN
1997 Elmer Madrid #32 Santa Clara, CA
1995 Joe Pund &
Paul Perry

Hilo, HI
1994 Louis Guaraldi #32 Palo Alto, CA
1992 Richard Bennett #101 Santa Maria, CA
1991 Salvatore Enea #59 Sacramento, CA
1990 Richard Noftsger #32 Hilo, HI
1989 Jerry DeGroot #88 Oakland, CA